Author Topic: Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question  (Read 647 times)

Whiskeyjack

  • User
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question
« on: May 07, 2019, 08:25:04 PM »
One of the options for The Mother's Heartbeat is 'You can bring someone in and out with you'
Can this be used against someones will?

Ebok

  • User
  • Posts: 415
    • View Profile
Re: Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2019, 02:13:35 AM »
I would say it is unlikely. It doesn't read that you can take someone with you, it says you can bring them. But in the end, it does what's best for you and your game.

Munin

  • User
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
Re: Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2019, 05:31:19 PM »
Agreed.

Whiskeyjack

  • User
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 09:12:21 PM »
Thanks guys. Your response is pretty much exactly how I felt. But the player using the power wasn't very receptive on the take vs. bring distinction. We allowed him to take someone to calm the situation. And the repercussions of basically kidnapping someone in front of others are going to be pretty severe. Just another way to amp up the story. 

Whiskeyjack

  • User
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Child-thing Mother's Heartbeat question
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2019, 04:07:24 AM »
In case anyone wanted more feedback on this move. Here's Lumeley's response via Reddit.

'It lets the child-thing try to use it on someone against their will.

There are a number of ways you can handle the attempt mechanically, depending on the child-thing's and the other character's exact approaches to the situation.

So, yes, the child-thing can in principle do it against someone's will, but there's no guarantee that the child-thing gets to do it against their will.'