Author Topic: Are modifiers cumulative?  (Read 2790 times)

Suna

  • User
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My Deviant Art Gallery
Are modifiers cumulative?
« on: December 21, 2010, 09:14:13 PM »
Pretty straightforward. If I take 1 ongoing and, say, some other situation makes me take 1 ongoing, do I take 2 ongoing?
If I take 1 ongoing and then something gives me 1 forward, do i take 2 in my next roll and 1 ongoing until the first condition fades off?
Or do such conditions overwrite each other?
Same question for negative modifiers.

I'm sorry but I can find no mention in the manual, maybe I'm searching the wrong chapter...
"The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ, /Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit /Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line, /Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it."

--Omar Khayyam, Rubaiyat

lumpley

  • Administrator
  • User
  • Posts: 1270
    • View Profile
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 09:25:30 PM »
They're cumulative.

Suna

  • User
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • My Deviant Art Gallery
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 10:57:18 AM »
Thank you for the quick reply!
"The Moving Finger writes: and, having writ, /Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit /Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line, /Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it."

--Omar Khayyam, Rubaiyat

lumpley

  • Administrator
  • User
  • Posts: 1270
    • View Profile
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2010, 07:23:33 PM »
Sure!

Paul T.

  • User
  • Posts: 706
    • View Profile
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2011, 10:28:01 PM »
Does this also work for, say, acting on the MC's answers?

If you're "acting on" three of the MC's answers, do you add +3 to your roll?

lumpley

  • Administrator
  • User
  • Posts: 1270
    • View Profile
Re: Are modifiers cumulative?
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2011, 01:38:15 AM »
Nope. The wording of the move rules that out.

-Vincent