DW Play Report...or, Why This Game is Awesome (LONG)

• 5 Replies

Drez

DW Play Report...or, Why This Game is Awesome (LONG)
« on: January 15, 2013, 05:41:47 PM »
A couple weeks ago, I hosted an event via Meetup.com at the local library as "Welcome to Dungeon World." Due to some logistical issues with turning off the invites, I had eight people RSVP'd before I could close off the event! I felt bad un-inviting people, so I said "screw it, we'll figure it out in play."

Prior to this Meetup, I had never played DW before. I was dying to try, though. I've been playing RPGs for over 20 years, and I had NEVER seen something like this before. I HAD to try it.

It was a little nerve-wracking at first, the idea of not having an adventure fully planned, AND having eight people for a game that is typically capped at six. Even the players seemed a little leary. For the starter, I decided to have the players in the midst of the climactic final battle between the assembled forces of Good and the legions of Evil. I decided a dragon would be leading the forces of evil and commanding them with a powerful artifact called the Orb of Command. I would have the players attempt to capture the orb, and/or slay the dragon. That was ALL I had planned.

With eight players, all eight of the core classes were in use. I held a draft to pick classes, then we made our characters as a group. The bond discussion was, in a word, great. Many of the players had never met each other before, and they were already putting together bits and pieces of stories and personalities for themselves and others. All just by putting peoples' names in blanks, Mad-Libs style. Normally, I have to work hard with the players to figure out their backgrounds, why they're adventuring, how they know each other, etc. Here, it all just flowed.