Deadlands/Deadwood/Weird West Hack: Let's do it!

• 6 Replies
Deadlands/Deadwood/Weird West Hack: Let's do it!
« on: August 27, 2010, 01:55:46 AM »
I've been thinking a lot about how rad Apocalypse World would be in a Weird West setting. I'm thinking a lot about Deadlands for inspiration, but maybe divorced from the metaplot a bit (a lot of a bit). I mostly like Hucksters using cards as spell foci and some historical stuff, like the Sioux and Texas Rangers and the Pinkertons.

Can we brainstorm this? Are people interested in helping? Are people interested in playing? I'm running an online AW game (a month or two old), a tabletop AW game (we're about to play session 2), and participating in a Google Wave AW game (a little more than a month old, I think). I have some experience but not a lot.

Any of you wastelanders out there wanna talk this out and get a task force started? I'll get started with my mission stated upfront:

A Weird West alternative history hack for Apocalypse World, equal parts Deadlands and Deadwood.

Ready go!

(crossposted at story-games)

Note: I see Michael's "Western World" hack and want to see if we have enough of a "Weird West" vibe to justify a separate project. If it turns out my ideas are redundant, I'll probably ask him if I can help with his hack instead. :)

Re: Deadlands/Deadwood/Weird West Hack: Let's do it!
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2010, 09:07:31 AM »
See, as I started reading I thought "but Michael's doing his thingy over there", but then the more I thought about it, the more I realized that "Weird West" is probably closer to vanilla AW than it is to a straight up historical western hack. I'm enthusiastically commenting on his ideas over there, and I'll do the same with this one, as I always loved the Deadlands setting and vibe.