One hour prep guide needed

• 7 Replies
One hour prep guide needed
« on: December 06, 2012, 04:16:11 AM »
Hi all

I'm having difficulties creating adventure outlines in DW. My problem is not finding a basic idea, but rather limiting myself so that I do not shoehorn my players into certain actions.

I really enjoy loose and open ended play, and I don't want the players to feel railroaded. I'm afraid to make them too loose though, since I have some bad experiences GM'ing these kind of plots though.

My question is thus: Do any of you have a "step by step" guide for creating dungeon world adventures that take only about an hour? The adventure should be playable in a roughly a 3-4 hour session.

We are playing tonight, but we're in no rush, since I just looted "The Indigo Galleon" from the main page. It seemed fun :)
I just recently started a blog on my gaming experiences on www.partialsuccess.wordpress.com

Re: One hour prep guide needed
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 10:27:21 AM »
All I do is make a front. Usually takes about 20-30 minutes, unless I want to make custom moves or monsters. Then it reaches around an hour to an hour and a half. Then, only set the stage, don't prescribe action.Basically just make an interesting situation that threatens  the PCs in some capacity.

sage

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 12:24:37 PM »
Fronts are really how you make an adventure in DW!

Before the first session just don't worry about it. At most think of some general idea of a problem for the players to be involved in—a tomb to be looted, raid to be made, attack to repel, whatever.

After the first session, make fronts, as described in the fronts chapter. They should provide the fuel for future sessions! Just keep updating them as appropriate.

In general, the GM agenda, princicples, and moves take a lot of what a typical adventure might otherwise cover. You don't need to get down every detail, those can come in during play.