Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - Selyuna

Pages: [1]
1
Monsterhearts / "Shut someone down" used by ghost in her darkest self?
« on: March 09, 2015, 03:10:20 AM »
Hi. I have a question about "shut someone down" move. In our PBF session, we have a ghost and a rusalka. The scene is as following - both of them are in the abandoned mansion, where the ghost lives. Rusalka is peeking around, ghost is in her darkest self, immaterial and unable to do anything except interacting with objects. Rusalka discovered some hidden room, with some witchy stuff. Ghost thinks it's related to the mystery of her death and she said she wants to take a magic book rusalka is picking up, and hit her with it right in the face. Now, rusalka have no idea that this strange thing doing some poltergeist-like stuff is our ghost.

My problem is - our MC, without the ghost player even saying what she wants to do, what is her intention, said she should pick - is she using shut somebody down, or lash out physically. I think none of the moves can be used, because ghost is in her darkest self. She is unable to shut somebody down - they are not in this kind of interaction, rusalka doesn't even know the ghost is the one hitting her. My opinion is MC should rather let rusalka decide - is she struggling and doesn't want to let the book go? Is she in shock so book hits her, and what later? Do you think ghost in darkest self is able to lash out physically (move implies there have to be some struggle, trading harm both ways etc) or shut someone down? Using only material objects?

(sorry for my bad english, not a native speaker)?

2
the nerve core / character playbooks (legal trifold)
« on: August 17, 2010, 01:51:33 PM »
Is this just me, or there's something wrong with this file?
All pictures are just looking crappy.

3
Apocalypse World / Strong, present leader.
« on: August 17, 2010, 11:54:18 AM »
I have a question about "When a gang suffers harm".

One of my fronts is a warlord and he has a gang. I treat this gang as a part of "warlord threat", right? Let's say its 3-harm large 2-armor.

One of my PC (funlugger, ofc) attacked some of the gang members, there is not a whole gang present, so let's say it's 3-harm small 2-armor (about 10+ people).

My question is - who is considered a leader of that gang? A warlord itself (in fiction, leader of the holding)?

Or maybe it's NPC who was introduced as a sergeant and warlord's second in command, and is present in the scene?

4
Apocalypse World / Hx
« on: June 24, 2010, 01:57:42 PM »
Hi,
Vincent, I have a question to ask about Hx.

Some time ago we started a session of AW as PBF, 3 of us, and now new player is joining us. The problem is I don't know how to write Hx for him - cause there was a change in Hx rules, I see it in characterbooks, but I don't have new MC playbook yet, only playtestbook (and there is old version of rules).

So, we did it this way, he introduced himself, on his turn he told us -1 (brainer).
So, it's my turn, I play BB, and I wonder - can I give the new player Hx +3, even if I gave it before to someone else?

Old rules in playtest book are:

Quote
The new character will need Hx with everybody else and everybody else will need Hx with her.
Here’s how:
• The player introduces her new character.
• She goes through her Hx rules and makes all the requisite decisions.
• Everybody else goes through their Hx rules, rewriting them to binaries as on page 23, and making their requisite decisions. They don’t revisit their Hx with anybody else, they simply decide, binarily, for the new character.
• Sum as normal, and ta da.

Pages: [1]